I need users to be able to send messages to people who are not in his group (ex: a user in Paris send a message to users who are in London). Searching the forum in order to achieve this I saw this topic posted 7 months ago:
It is working (meaning the user can send a message to another group), but as a result, once the message is sent, the user is now part of all existing groups. He has to uncheck all group boxes in its settings tab.
Is there a way to fix this? How come the user has joined all groups after sending a message to one?
Yes the user shows in every groups (I created 10 groups for my tests).
What I did in order is the following:
In my dashboard, Recipient tab, I allowed users to add themselves to groups.
Then on the front-end I logged in as a test user, and I could see all groups in the Parameters tab that I had created in the back-end. Fine.
I sent a message to a group. Successfully sent. Back to his Parameter tab, all groups were checked. Meaning the user has joined all groups. So I went to the back-end and could see its username in every group…
I deleted the user in every group from the Dashboard, recipient tab. Then I unchecked ‘Can users add themselves to group’.
Second message sent from the front-end to a group. This time the user is not part of any group (in the dashboard).
So it has something to do with that option allowing users to add themselves to groups.
I will keep this option unchecked and try to assign the user to a group in a different way.